lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Dec]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 07/24] nohz: Assign timekeeping duty to a non-full-nohz CPU
Date
This way the full nohz CPUs can safely run with the tick
stopped with a guarantee that somebody else is taking
care of the jiffies and gtod progression.

NOTE: this doesn't handle CPU hotplug. Also we could use something
more elaborated wrt. powersaving if we have more than one non full-nohz
CPU running. But let's use this KISS solution for now.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
---
kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c | 3 ++-
kernel/time/tick-common.c | 5 ++++-
kernel/time/tick-sched.c | 7 ++++++-
3 files changed, 12 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c b/kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c
index f113755..596c547 100644
--- a/kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c
+++ b/kernel/time/tick-broadcast.c
@@ -537,7 +537,8 @@ void tick_broadcast_setup_oneshot(struct clock_event_device *bc)
bc->event_handler = tick_handle_oneshot_broadcast;

/* Take the do_timer update */
- tick_do_timer_cpu = cpu;
+ if (!tick_nohz_full_cpu(cpu))
+ tick_do_timer_cpu = cpu;

/*
* We must be careful here. There might be other CPUs
diff --git a/kernel/time/tick-common.c b/kernel/time/tick-common.c
index b1600a6..83f2bd9 100644
--- a/kernel/time/tick-common.c
+++ b/kernel/time/tick-common.c
@@ -163,7 +163,10 @@ static void tick_setup_device(struct tick_device *td,
* this cpu:
*/
if (tick_do_timer_cpu == TICK_DO_TIMER_BOOT) {
- tick_do_timer_cpu = cpu;
+ if (!tick_nohz_full_cpu(cpu))
+ tick_do_timer_cpu = cpu;
+ else
+ tick_do_timer_cpu = TICK_DO_TIMER_NONE;
tick_next_period = ktime_get();
tick_period = ktime_set(0, NSEC_PER_SEC / HZ);
}
diff --git a/kernel/time/tick-sched.c b/kernel/time/tick-sched.c
index fac9ba4..4a68b50 100644
--- a/kernel/time/tick-sched.c
+++ b/kernel/time/tick-sched.c
@@ -112,7 +112,8 @@ static void tick_sched_do_timer(ktime_t now)
* this duty, then the jiffies update is still serialized by
* jiffies_lock.
*/
- if (unlikely(tick_do_timer_cpu == TICK_DO_TIMER_NONE))
+ if (unlikely(tick_do_timer_cpu == TICK_DO_TIMER_NONE)
+ && !tick_nohz_full_cpu(cpu))
tick_do_timer_cpu = cpu;
#endif

@@ -512,6 +513,10 @@ static bool can_stop_idle_tick(int cpu, struct tick_sched *ts)
return false;
}

+ /* If there are full nohz CPUs around, we need to keep the timekeeping duty */
+ if (have_full_nohz_mask && tick_do_timer_cpu == cpu)
+ return false;
+
return true;
}

--
1.7.5.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-12-20 20:01    [W:0.224 / U:1.532 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site