lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Dec]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 19/24] nohz: Move nohz load balancer selection into idle logic
Date
[ ** BUGGY PATCH: I need to put more thinking into this ** ]

We want the nohz load balancer to be an idle CPU, thus
move that selection to strict dyntick idle logic.

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
[ added movement of calc_load_exit_idle() ]
Signed-off-by: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
---
kernel/time/tick-sched.c | 11 ++++++-----
1 files changed, 6 insertions(+), 5 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/time/tick-sched.c b/kernel/time/tick-sched.c
index 73f339b..1b607bce 100644
--- a/kernel/time/tick-sched.c
+++ b/kernel/time/tick-sched.c
@@ -442,9 +442,6 @@ static ktime_t tick_nohz_stop_sched_tick(struct tick_sched *ts,
* the scheduler tick in nohz_restart_sched_tick.
*/
if (!ts->tick_stopped) {
- nohz_balance_enter_idle(cpu);
- calc_load_enter_idle();
-
ts->last_tick = hrtimer_get_expires(&ts->sched_timer);
ts->tick_stopped = 1;
}
@@ -540,8 +537,11 @@ static void __tick_nohz_idle_enter(struct tick_sched *ts)
ts->idle_expires = expires;
}

- if (!was_stopped && ts->tick_stopped)
+ if (!was_stopped && ts->tick_stopped) {
ts->idle_jiffies = ts->last_jiffies;
+ nohz_balance_enter_idle(cpu);
+ calc_load_enter_idle();
+ }
}
}

@@ -649,7 +649,6 @@ static void tick_nohz_restart_sched_tick(struct tick_sched *ts, ktime_t now)
tick_do_update_jiffies64(now);
update_cpu_load_nohz();

- calc_load_exit_idle();
touch_softlockup_watchdog();
/*
* Cancel the scheduled timer and restore the tick
@@ -709,6 +708,8 @@ void tick_nohz_idle_exit(void)
tick_nohz_stop_idle(cpu, now);

if (ts->tick_stopped) {
+ nohz_balance_enter_idle(cpu);
+ calc_load_exit_idle();
tick_nohz_restart_sched_tick(ts, now);
tick_nohz_account_idle_ticks(ts);
}
--
1.7.5.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-12-20 20:01    [W:0.244 / U:0.976 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site