lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Dec]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 18/24] sched: Update nohz rq clock before searching busiest group on load balancing
Date
While load balancing an rq target, we look for the busiest group.
This operation may require an uptodate rq clock if we end up calling
scale_rt_power(). To this end, update it manually if the target is
running tickless.

DOUBT: don't we actually also need this in vanilla kernel, in case
this_cpu is in dyntick-idle mode?

Signed-off-by: Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>
Cc: Alessio Igor Bogani <abogani@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Geoff Levand <geoff@infradead.org>
Cc: Gilad Ben Yossef <gilad@benyossef.com>
Cc: Hakan Akkan <hakanakkan@gmail.com>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
---
kernel/sched/fair.c | 13 +++++++++++++
1 files changed, 13 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index 291e225..b1b791d 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -4795,6 +4795,19 @@ static int load_balance(int this_cpu, struct rq *this_rq,

schedstat_inc(sd, lb_count[idle]);

+ /*
+ * find_busiest_group() may need an uptodate cpu clock
+ * for find_busiest_group() (see scale_rt_power()). If
+ * the CPU is nohz, it's clock may be stale.
+ */
+ if (tick_nohz_full_cpu(this_cpu)) {
+ local_irq_save(flags);
+ raw_spin_lock(&this_rq->lock);
+ update_rq_clock(this_rq);
+ raw_spin_unlock(&this_rq->lock);
+ local_irq_restore(flags);
+ }
+
redo:
group = find_busiest_group(&env, balance);

--
1.7.5.4


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-12-20 20:01    [W:0.211 / U:0.536 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site