lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2023]   [Mar]   [9]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [RESEND PATCH v2] sched/debug: Put sched/domains files under the verbose flag
On Thu, Mar 09, 2023 at 03:44:45PM +0100 Greg KH wrote:
> On Fri, Mar 03, 2023 at 01:37:54PM -0500, Phil Auld wrote:
> > The debug files under sched/domains can take a long time to regenerate,
> > especially when updates are done one at a time. Move these files under
> > the sched verbose debug flag. Allow changes to verbose to trigger
> > generation of the files. This lets a user batch the updates but still
> > have the information available. The detailed topology printk messages
> > are also under verbose.
> >
> > Discussion that lead to this approach can be found in the link below.
> >
> > Simplified code to maintain use of debugfs bool routines suggested by
> > Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>.
> >
> > Signed-off-by: Phil Auld <pauld@redhat.com>
> > Acked-by: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> > Reviewed-by: Valentin Schneider <vschneid@redhat.com>
> > Reviewed-by: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> > Tested-by: Vishal Chourasia <vishalc@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> > Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
> > Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
> > Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
> > Cc: Peter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
> > Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> > Cc: Valentin Schneider <vschneid@redhat.com>
> > Cc: Vishal Chourasia <vishalc@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
> > Cc: Vincent Guittot <vincent.guittot@linaro.org>
> > Link: https://lore.kernel.org/all/Y01UWQL2y2r69sBX@li-05afa54c-330e-11b2-a85c-e3f3aa0db1e9.ibm.com/
> > ---
> >
> > v2: fix comment typo and use cpumask_empty()
> >
> > kernel/sched/debug.c | 52 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++---
> > 1 file changed, 49 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)
>
> As no one has picked this up yet, and it is really a debugfs issue, I'll
> queue this up in the driver-core tree (which takes debugfs changes) for
> 6.4-rc1 unless someone screams.
>

Thanks Greg!


> thanks,
>
> greg k-h
>

--

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2023-03-27 00:52    [W:0.180 / U:0.300 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site