lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2023]   [Jan]   [20]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[Patch v5 1/5] x86/microcode: Add a parameter to microcode_check() to store CPU capabilities
Date
Add a parameter to store CPU capabilities before performing a microcode
update so that the code later can compare CPU capabilities before and after
performing the update.

Signed-off-by: Ashok Raj <ashok.raj@intel.com>
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>
Cc: x86 <x86@kernel.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Alison Schofield <alison.schofield@intel.com>
Cc: Reinette Chatre <reinette.chatre@intel.com>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner (Intel) <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Tom Lendacky <thomas.lendacky@amd.com>
Cc: Stefan Talpalaru <stefantalpalaru@yahoo.com>
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zilstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
Cc: Andrew Cooper <Andrew.Cooper3@citrix.com>
Cc: Boris Ostrovsky <boris.ostrovsky@oracle.com>
---
Changes since V3

Boris:
- Fix commit log to drop "next patch".
- Add documentation to new parameter to microcode_check()
---
arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h | 2 +-
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c | 21 +++++++++++++--------
arch/x86/kernel/cpu/microcode/core.c | 3 ++-
3 files changed, 16 insertions(+), 10 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h b/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
index 4e35c66edeb7..f256a4ddd25d 100644
--- a/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
+++ b/arch/x86/include/asm/processor.h
@@ -697,7 +697,7 @@ bool xen_set_default_idle(void);
#endif

void __noreturn stop_this_cpu(void *dummy);
-void microcode_check(void);
+void microcode_check(struct cpuinfo_x86 *prev_info);

enum l1tf_mitigations {
L1TF_MITIGATION_OFF,
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
index 9cfca3d7d0e2..0f5a173d0871 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/common.c
@@ -2297,30 +2297,35 @@ void cpu_init_secondary(void)
#endif

#ifdef CONFIG_MICROCODE_LATE_LOADING
-/*
+/**
+ * microcode_check() - Check if any CPU capabilities changed after an update.
+ * @prev_info: CPU capabilities stored before an update.
+ *
* The microcode loader calls this upon late microcode load to recheck features,
* only when microcode has been updated. Caller holds microcode_mutex and CPU
* hotplug lock.
+ *
+ * Return: None
*/
-void microcode_check(void)
+void microcode_check(struct cpuinfo_x86 *prev_info)
{
- struct cpuinfo_x86 info;
-
perf_check_microcode();

/* Reload CPUID max function as it might've changed. */
- info.cpuid_level = cpuid_eax(0);
+ prev_info->cpuid_level = cpuid_eax(0);

/*
* Copy all capability leafs to pick up the synthetic ones so that
* memcmp() below doesn't fail on that. The ones coming from CPUID will
* get overwritten in get_cpu_cap().
*/
- memcpy(&info.x86_capability, &boot_cpu_data.x86_capability, sizeof(info.x86_capability));
+ memcpy(&prev_info->x86_capability, &boot_cpu_data.x86_capability,
+ sizeof(prev_info->x86_capability));

- get_cpu_cap(&info);
+ get_cpu_cap(prev_info);

- if (!memcmp(&info.x86_capability, &boot_cpu_data.x86_capability, sizeof(info.x86_capability)))
+ if (!memcmp(&prev_info->x86_capability, &boot_cpu_data.x86_capability,
+ sizeof(prev_info->x86_capability)))
return;

pr_warn("x86/CPU: CPU features have changed after loading microcode, but might not take effect.\n");
diff --git a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/microcode/core.c b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/microcode/core.c
index c4cd7328177b..e39d83be794b 100644
--- a/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/microcode/core.c
+++ b/arch/x86/kernel/cpu/microcode/core.c
@@ -439,6 +439,7 @@ static int __reload_late(void *info)
static int microcode_reload_late(void)
{
int old = boot_cpu_data.microcode, ret;
+ struct cpuinfo_x86 prev_info;

pr_err("Attempting late microcode loading - it is dangerous and taints the kernel.\n");
pr_err("You should switch to early loading, if possible.\n");
@@ -448,7 +449,7 @@ static int microcode_reload_late(void)

ret = stop_machine_cpuslocked(__reload_late, NULL, cpu_online_mask);
if (ret == 0)
- microcode_check();
+ microcode_check(&prev_info);

pr_info("Reload completed, microcode revision: 0x%x -> 0x%x\n",
old, boot_cpu_data.microcode);
--
2.34.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2023-03-26 23:49    [W:0.046 / U:0.408 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site