lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2022]   [Oct]   [28]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH bpf-next v2 1/3] bpf/verifier: Fix potential memory leak in array reallocation
Date
If an error (NULL) is returned by krealloc(), callers of realloc_array()
were setting their allocation pointers to NULL, but on error krealloc()
does not touch the original allocation. This would result in a memory
resource leak. Instead, free the old allocation on the error handling
path.

Cc: Alexei Starovoitov <ast@kernel.org>
Cc: Daniel Borkmann <daniel@iogearbox.net>
Cc: John Fastabend <john.fastabend@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrii Nakryiko <andrii@kernel.org>
Cc: Martin KaFai Lau <martin.lau@linux.dev>
Cc: Song Liu <song@kernel.org>
Cc: Yonghong Song <yhs@fb.com>
Cc: KP Singh <kpsingh@kernel.org>
Cc: Stanislav Fomichev <sdf@google.com>
Cc: Hao Luo <haoluo@google.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Cc: bpf@vger.kernel.org
Signed-off-by: Kees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
---
kernel/bpf/verifier.c | 9 +++++++--
1 file changed, 7 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/bpf/verifier.c b/kernel/bpf/verifier.c
index 014ee0953dbd..eb8c34db74c7 100644
--- a/kernel/bpf/verifier.c
+++ b/kernel/bpf/verifier.c
@@ -1027,12 +1027,17 @@ static void *copy_array(void *dst, const void *src, size_t n, size_t size, gfp_t
*/
static void *realloc_array(void *arr, size_t old_n, size_t new_n, size_t size)
{
+ void *new_arr;
+
if (!new_n || old_n == new_n)
goto out;

- arr = krealloc_array(arr, new_n, size, GFP_KERNEL);
- if (!arr)
+ new_arr = krealloc_array(arr, new_n, size, GFP_KERNEL);
+ if (!new_arr) {
+ kfree(arr);
return NULL;
+ }
+ arr = new_arr;

if (new_n > old_n)
memset(arr + old_n * size, 0, (new_n - old_n) * size);
--
2.34.1
\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2022-10-29 04:55    [W:0.138 / U:1.056 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site