lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [May]   [12]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 5.10 512/530] perf tools: Change fields type in perf_record_time_conv
Date
From: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>

[ Upstream commit e1d380ea8b00db4bb14d1f513000d4b62aa9d3f0 ]

C standard claims "An object declared as type _Bool is large enough to
store the values 0 and 1", bool type size can be 1 byte or larger than
1 byte. Thus it's uncertian for bool type size with different
compilers.

This patch changes the bool type in structure perf_record_time_conv to
__u8 type, and pads extra bytes for 8-byte alignment; this can give
reliable structure size.

Fixes: d110162cafc8 ("perf tsc: Support cap_user_time_short for event TIME_CONV")
Suggested-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Signed-off-by: Leo Yan <leo.yan@linaro.org>
Acked-by: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Gustavo A. R. Silva <gustavoars@kernel.org>
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
Cc: Jiri Olsa <jolsa@redhat.com>
Cc: Kan Liang <kan.liang@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steve MacLean <Steve.MacLean@Microsoft.com>
Cc: Yonatan Goldschmidt <yonatan.goldschmidt@granulate.io>
Link: https://lore.kernel.org/r/20210428120915.7123-2-leo.yan@linaro.org
Signed-off-by: Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Sasha Levin <sashal@kernel.org>
---
tools/lib/perf/include/perf/event.h | 5 +++--
1 file changed, 3 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/tools/lib/perf/include/perf/event.h b/tools/lib/perf/include/perf/event.h
index 988c539bedb6..baf64ea74e10 100644
--- a/tools/lib/perf/include/perf/event.h
+++ b/tools/lib/perf/include/perf/event.h
@@ -336,8 +336,9 @@ struct perf_record_time_conv {
__u64 time_zero;
__u64 time_cycles;
__u64 time_mask;
- bool cap_user_time_zero;
- bool cap_user_time_short;
+ __u8 cap_user_time_zero;
+ __u8 cap_user_time_short;
+ __u8 reserved[6]; /* For alignment */
};

struct perf_record_header_feature {
--
2.30.2


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-05-12 19:01    [W:0.975 / U:0.068 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site