lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2021]   [Dec]   [15]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 2/2] sctp: hold cached endpoints to prevent possible UAF
On Tue, 14 Dec 2021, Lee Jones wrote:

> The cause of the resultant dump_stack() reported below is a
> dereference of a freed pointer to 'struct sctp_endpoint' in
> sctp_sock_dump().
>
> This race condition occurs when a transport is cached into its
> associated hash table followed by an endpoint/sock migration to a new
> association in sctp_assoc_migrate() prior to their subsequent use in
> sctp_diag_dump() which uses sctp_for_each_transport() to walk the hash
> table calling into sctp_sock_dump() where the dereference occurs.
>
> BUG: KASAN: use-after-free in sctp_sock_dump+0xa8/0x438 [sctp_diag]
> Call trace:
> dump_backtrace+0x0/0x2dc
> show_stack+0x20/0x2c
> dump_stack+0x120/0x144
> print_address_description+0x80/0x2f4
> __kasan_report+0x174/0x194
> kasan_report+0x10/0x18
> __asan_load8+0x84/0x8c
> sctp_sock_dump+0xa8/0x438 [sctp_diag]
> sctp_for_each_transport+0x1e0/0x26c [sctp]
> sctp_diag_dump+0x180/0x1f0 [sctp_diag]
> inet_diag_dump+0x12c/0x168
> netlink_dump+0x24c/0x5b8
> __netlink_dump_start+0x274/0x2a8
> inet_diag_handler_cmd+0x224/0x274
> sock_diag_rcv_msg+0x21c/0x230
> netlink_rcv_skb+0xe0/0x1bc
> sock_diag_rcv+0x34/0x48
> netlink_unicast+0x3b4/0x430
> netlink_sendmsg+0x4f0/0x574
> sock_write_iter+0x18c/0x1f0
> do_iter_readv_writev+0x230/0x2a8
> do_iter_write+0xc8/0x2b4
> vfs_writev+0xf8/0x184
> do_writev+0xb0/0x1a8
> __arm64_sys_writev+0x4c/0x5c
> el0_svc_common+0x118/0x250
> el0_svc_handler+0x3c/0x9c
> el0_svc+0x8/0xc
>
> To prevent this from happening we need to take a references to the
> to-be-used/dereferenced 'struct sock' and 'struct sctp_endpoint's
> until such a time when we know it can be safely released.
>
> When KASAN is not enabled, a similar, but slightly different NULL
> pointer derefernce crash occurs later along the thread of execution in
> inet_sctp_diag_fill() this time.
>
> Cc: Vlad Yasevich <vyasevich@gmail.com>
> Cc: Neil Horman <nhorman@tuxdriver.com>
> Cc: Marcelo Ricardo Leitner <marcelo.leitner@gmail.com>
> Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
> Cc: Jakub Kicinski <kuba@kernel.org>
> Cc: lksctp developers <linux-sctp@vger.kernel.org>
> Cc: "H.P. Yarroll" <piggy@acm.org>
> Cc: Karl Knutson <karl@athena.chicago.il.us>
> Cc: Jon Grimm <jgrimm@us.ibm.com>
> Cc: Xingang Guo <xingang.guo@intel.com>
> Cc: Hui Huang <hui.huang@nokia.com>
> Cc: Sridhar Samudrala <sri@us.ibm.com>
> Cc: Daisy Chang <daisyc@us.ibm.com>
> Cc: Ryan Layer <rmlayer@us.ibm.com>
> Cc: Kevin Gao <kevin.gao@intel.com>
> Cc: linux-sctp@vger.kernel.org
> Cc: netdev@vger.kernel.org
> Signed-off-by: Lee Jones <lee.jones@linaro.org>
> ---
> net/sctp/diag.c | 4 ++++
> 1 file changed, 4 insertions(+)

Ignore this one. For some reason 1/2 didn't send.

Submitted a RESEND of the set.

--
Lee Jones [李琼斯]
Senior Technical Lead - Developer Services
Linaro.org │ Open source software for Arm SoCs
Follow Linaro: Facebook | Twitter | Blog

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2021-12-15 07:50    [W:0.084 / U:0.948 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site