lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2018]   [Mar]   [14]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
From
SubjectRE: [PATCH v5 2/6] staging: fsl-dpaa2/ethsw: Add Freescale DPAA2 Ethernet Switch driver
Date


> -----Original Message-----
> From: Andrew Lunn [mailto:andrew@lunn.ch]
> Sent: Tuesday, March 13, 2018 5:26 PM
> To: Razvan Stefanescu <razvan.stefanescu@nxp.com>
> Cc: gregkh@linuxfoundation.org; devel@driverdev.osuosl.org; linux-
> kernel@vger.kernel.org; netdev@vger.kernel.org; Alexander Graf
> <agraf@suse.de>; arnd@arndb.de; Alexandru Marginean
> <alexandru.marginean@nxp.com>; Ruxandra Ioana Ciocoi Radulescu
> <ruxandra.radulescu@nxp.com>; Ioana Ciornei <ioana.ciornei@nxp.com>;
> Laurentiu Tudor <laurentiu.tudor@nxp.com>; stuyoder@gmail.com
> Subject: Re: [PATCH v5 2/6] staging: fsl-dpaa2/ethsw: Add Freescale DPAA2
> Ethernet Switch driver
>
> > Hello Andrew,
> >
> > The current driver implementation uses only a single FDB for the switch,
> > so it is not possible configure multiple flooding domains to accommodate
> > ports partitioning.
>
> Ah, O.K. Rather than break somebodies network by wrongly flooding, it
> would be better to return -EOPNOTSUPP when the requirement for the
> second FDB is met. The offload to hardware will then not happen, and
> the software bridge will do all the work.
>
Thank you for your suggestion. I will add to the TODO list in v6.

Razvan
> Andrew

\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2018-03-14 15:28    [W:0.059 / U:2.700 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site