lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Dec]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 09/52] mm/mempolicy: Make MPOL_LOCAL a real policy
Date
From: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>

Make MPOL_LOCAL a real and exposed policy such that applications
that relied on the previous default behaviour can explicitly
request it.

Requested-by: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Paul Turner <pjt@google.com>
Cc: Lee Schermerhorn <Lee.Schermerhorn@hp.com>
Cc: Alex Shi <lkml.alex@gmail.com>
Cc: Srikar Dronamraju <srikar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Signed-off-by: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
include/uapi/linux/mempolicy.h | 1 +
mm/mempolicy.c | 9 ++++++---
2 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/uapi/linux/mempolicy.h b/include/uapi/linux/mempolicy.h
index 23e62e0..3e835c9 100644
--- a/include/uapi/linux/mempolicy.h
+++ b/include/uapi/linux/mempolicy.h
@@ -20,6 +20,7 @@ enum {
MPOL_PREFERRED,
MPOL_BIND,
MPOL_INTERLEAVE,
+ MPOL_LOCAL,
MPOL_MAX, /* always last member of enum */
};

diff --git a/mm/mempolicy.c b/mm/mempolicy.c
index 66e90ec..54bd3e5 100644
--- a/mm/mempolicy.c
+++ b/mm/mempolicy.c
@@ -269,6 +269,10 @@ static struct mempolicy *mpol_new(unsigned short mode, unsigned short flags,
(flags & MPOL_F_RELATIVE_NODES)))
return ERR_PTR(-EINVAL);
}
+ } else if (mode == MPOL_LOCAL) {
+ if (!nodes_empty(*nodes))
+ return ERR_PTR(-EINVAL);
+ mode = MPOL_PREFERRED;
} else if (nodes_empty(*nodes))
return ERR_PTR(-EINVAL);
policy = kmem_cache_alloc(policy_cache, GFP_KERNEL);
@@ -2399,7 +2403,6 @@ void numa_default_policy(void)
* "local" is pseudo-policy: MPOL_PREFERRED with MPOL_F_LOCAL flag
* Used only for mpol_parse_str() and mpol_to_str()
*/
-#define MPOL_LOCAL MPOL_MAX
static const char * const policy_modes[] =
{
[MPOL_DEFAULT] = "default",
@@ -2452,12 +2455,12 @@ int mpol_parse_str(char *str, struct mempolicy **mpol, int no_context)
if (flags)
*flags++ = '\0'; /* terminate mode string */

- for (mode = 0; mode <= MPOL_LOCAL; mode++) {
+ for (mode = 0; mode < MPOL_MAX; mode++) {
if (!strcmp(str, policy_modes[mode])) {
break;
}
}
- if (mode > MPOL_LOCAL)
+ if (mode >= MPOL_MAX)
goto out;

switch (mode) {
--
1.7.11.7


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-12-02 20:41    [W:0.289 / U:3.848 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site