lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Dec]   [2]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
Patch in this message
/
From
Subject[PATCH 34/52] sched: Average the fault stats longer
Date
We will rely on the per CPU fault statistics and its
shared/private derivative even more in the future, so
stabilize this metric even better.

The staged updates introduced in commit:

sched: Introduce staged average NUMA faults

Already stabilized this key metric significantly, but in
real workloads it was still reacting to temporary load
balancing transients too quickly.

Slow down by weighting the average. The weighting value was
found via experimentation.

Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
---
kernel/sched/fair.c | 4 ++--
1 file changed, 2 insertions(+), 2 deletions(-)

diff --git a/kernel/sched/fair.c b/kernel/sched/fair.c
index 24a5588..a5f3ad7 100644
--- a/kernel/sched/fair.c
+++ b/kernel/sched/fair.c
@@ -914,8 +914,8 @@ static void task_numa_placement(struct task_struct *p)
p->numa_faults_curr[idx] = 0;

/* Keep a simple running average: */
- p->numa_faults[idx] += new_faults;
- p->numa_faults[idx] /= 2;
+ p->numa_faults[idx] = p->numa_faults[idx]*7 + new_faults;
+ p->numa_faults[idx] /= 8;

faults += p->numa_faults[idx];
total[priv] += p->numa_faults[idx];
--
1.7.11.7


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-12-02 20:41    [W:0.258 / U:1.120 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site