lkml.org 
[lkml]   [2012]   [Dec]   [1]   [last100]   RSS Feed
Views: [wrap][no wrap]   [headers]  [forward] 
 
Messages in this thread
/
Date
From
SubjectRe: [PATCH 1/2] mm/rmap: Convert the struct anon_vma::mutex to an rwsem
On 12/01/2012 03:10 PM, Ingo Molnar wrote:
>
> Convert the struct anon_vma::mutex to an rwsem, which will help
> in solving a page-migration scalability problem. (Addressed in
> a separate patch.)
>
> The conversion is simple and straightforward: in every case
> where we mutex_lock()ed we'll now down_write().
>
> Suggested-by: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
> Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
> Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
> Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
> Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
> Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
> Signed-off-by: Ingo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>

Reviewed-by: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>


--
All rights reversed


\
 
 \ /
  Last update: 2012-12-01 21:41    [W:0.173 / U:4.508 seconds]
©2003-2020 Jasper Spaans|hosted at Digital Ocean and TransIP|Read the blog|Advertise on this site